RSS Feed

Eat Clean, Train Mean, Sleep Hard

Rest. Often put on the back burner, Rest is something we all need just as much Eating Clean and Training Mean. 

I try to push my self everyday do do a little more, to eat a little better than the day before, to drink more water, to train hard, but I often neglect my sleep. Being a busy, working mom, it’s so easy to forget about sleep because – lets face it – there isn’t enough time to get everything done.

Last night, my body decided to teach me a lesson. I did everything as i normally do, left work, picked up the boy from school, hubby made dinner…but through all of it I was just feeling so low energy. My husband and I took my son for a walk like we usually do, and I put him to bed when we got home. And…then I CRASHED!

I could not get going again after I put my son to bed.

I tried to relax, tried to tell myself : “5 minutes of rest and then we can workout”. I told myself: “OK we can skip the workout today, lets clean the kitchen instead”. Nope nothing worked. I fell asleep and was not able to wake up and get going until 5:00 this morning!

I realized I need to listen to my body. The crash i had was my body forcing me to take it easy, to take a break. I also realized this morning that I felt GREAT! I feel on top of the world. I feel like my muscles have recovered from my previous workouts this week. I feel refreshed and energized. My body needed this and I needed to listen.

We fail to realize that sleep, and getting enough rest is an integral part of and fitness plan. The body needs time to recoup. The muscles are pushed so hard when we train, that they need their recovery time. Cells need time to regenerate, and do the tissues in our body. Our mind needs the rest and relaxation. We need.to.slow.down.

It’s hard sometimes, especially as working parents, with so many things going on – but listen to your body. When it’s telling you to take it easy – listen and take it easy!

One response »

  1. Pingback: some fit mama

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

